Oak panels from Overmantle
Bishop's Palace Clonfert overmantle
After the great fire of 1954 which destroyed the Bishop’s Palace in Clonfert, two carved and painted 17th century oak panels from the fireplace in the bishop’s room were salvaged. They hang in the porch of the cathedral today. One bears the Episcopal Arms and Motto of Clonfert Diocese and the other the personal heraldry of Bishop Edward Wooley. Both pieces formed part of a much larger oak fireplace, but all that survives today are these two panels. They are quite unique, and important pieces of ornamental 17th-century woodwork. The room in question was commonly known as the Wooley Room. It was fully panelled in oak wainscotting bearing some Fleur de Lis ornament in gold.